Review of “Mania” by Maniac

Image

 

“Who the hell is Maniac?” is the question most of you will be asking. Well, to be honest, I didn’t know who they were either. I have no idea how to describe these guys to you, but take my word, this album is like nothing I have ever heard before.

1. Thank Each Mistake

A great opening track. I really appreciate when a band puts thought into which track opens their album, it really sets the rest of it into motion. This tune has a really up-tempo sound that gives you a nice feeling while listening. Lyrically, it’s one of many on the album where I had to give it  few listens before really grasping everything said. Great song overall.

2. Hoodoo

I really have mixed feeling on this song. It’s not by any means bad, but I wouldn’t really say it’s great either. It has a fun sound about it, but I don’t really like how it flows. It seems that they had an idea here, but couldn’t piece it together in the right way. Decent song overall, but by no means one of my favorites.

3. 3 Kings Day

Ahh, this one is great. It starts out really nice and light, but once it hits the chorus the mood shifts to almost an intimate feel. The instrumentation used sounds really nice and it’s very apparent they took a lot of time to make this one right on.To any of you who have ever listened to The Cab, this song reminds me a lot of their material. Great Song.

4. Always is a Promise

I love the way this one opens. The beautiful strings really set the song off right. Unfortunately, the rest of the song is a bit dull. As mentioned before, the strings and general instrumentation really are  the strong point of this one.

5. Give It Up

This was the first song I had ever heard from these guys, and I’m glad it was. This song sets the bar high on the album and really has a great groove about it. Lyrically, it’s a bit goofy, but the song really doesn’t focus much on that. The way the song flows is wonderful, especially at the bridge around the 1:45 mark. Definitely one of my overall favorites.

6. Our Darkest Hour

Talk about a perfectly named song. This is by far the darkest song on the album, but is absolutely beautiful. They really nailed this one. It’s a song I like to call a ‘secret gem’. I would never want them to release this as a single, but when you listen to the album as a whole, it’s a wonderful surprise. I’d also like to point out the lyrical value of this tune. It really hit me by surprise that a band so up-tempo could write something so deep. Just an absolutely fantastic song.

7. Just Say Yes

As I’ve mentioned in reviews before, I’m a stickler for good tracking on an album. Maniac did a brilliant job by placing this one after ‘Our Darkest Hour’; it couldn’t have been placed better anywhere else on the album. With a nice mellow sounding tone, this tune bridges the gap between the deep, dark tone of the last song and brings the mood back up. The instruments really kick into high gear toward the final stretch of the song and leave you feeling great. Nice tune!

8. Wild Wild Water

Hmm, I again have mixed feeling about this track. It’s another one that I would say is just a bit dull. The instruments are on point again, as they are on most of the album, but there just isn’t anything that special here. Lyrically, it’s just not that great. I didn’t really come out of it feeling like they put that much time on it. Overall, it’s just alright. 

9. Whateva Twirls Ya World

Oh boy, this one. I don’t know exactly what kind of a sound they were going for on this song, but it’s just so weird; the weirdest part of it being that it actually kind of works. The blend of rock and country  twang is strangely nicely balanced and ends up being one of the better songs on the record. Not sure the lyrics have any real meaning, but I think this one is more for the fun of it all. 

10. Can’t Stand Apart

Another kind of dull tune. I find it somewhat ironic that he sings “This is just a cycle” because to me, this song seems like a bit of a repetitive cycle itself. I’d like to point out the fantastic percussion work on this track. It gives this track a bit of life, even though there’s not much else here. Repetitive lyrics, repetitive music, pass.

11. Under The GalaxSEA

No, that wasn’t a typo, that is actually how the track is titled. Putting aside the ridiculous name, the song is actually quite good. Being the closer on the album, it finishes out with a nice, light mood and gives you more of what the band does so well. It just makes you feel good, and I think that is a wonderful trait to have as a band. In a music scene with so much deep  meaning and dark lyrics, it’s nice to hear something that just makes you feel good. Kudos to you Maniac.

Favorite Song

Our Darkest Album

*Note: I would not suggest listening to this track first. It is best to experience this song after listening to the songs that precede it. Listen to this album as a whole.

Final Thoughts

I was really surprised by this one. As a band that I had never heard of, and that many of you will have never heard of , it was nice to come out of this album with a positive feeling. Though the album has some dull moments, it’s a great experience from start to finish. I hope these guys go on to create more music, because if they work hard enough they could really be destined for something great.

Rating

7/10

 

Leave a comment